History and Heritage

Discover / History and Heritage

History

By Maude-Emmanuelle Lambert

Located on the north shore of the Ottawa River, the territory of the Municipality of Pontiac extends from the western limits of the City of Gatineau (Aylmer sector) to the eastern border of the Municipality of Bristol. It covers a total area of 448.31 km² and has 5,986 inhabitants according to the population decree of the municipalities of Quebec of 2021.

The Municipality of Pontiac was created in 1975 through the merging of the Onslow and Eardley Townships which include the towns of Eardley (1855) Quyon (1875), South Onslow (1876) and North Onshow (1878). These townships also included hamlets (not incorporated), namely Breckenridge, Heyworth, Beechgrove, Mohr Corners, Muldoon, Onslow Corners, Wyman (formerly Billerica) and Steele. The name Pontiac would have its origin from the County of Pontiac (designated in 1853) or from one of the first economic activity centres and colonization that developed in the nineteenth century, the Pontiac village (sometimes referred to as Pontiacville), located at the west end of the Onslow Township.

However, human occupation of the territory existed long before the townships, villages and hamlets, which dates back to thousands of years.

The area known today as the Municipality of Pontiac is part of the historical Anishinabegs (the Algonquins) territory, which extended all along the Ottawa River, and as far up as Deep River. Archeological excavations, notably at l’île-aux-Allumettes and in the Quyon and Luskville areas and as far as Fitzroy Harbour, suggest a native occupation of the territory dating back 6,000 years.

Pontiac, formerly identifying a division of the census and an electoral township in 1853, is also used to identify an electoral district, a Regional County Municipality (RCM), a region and a municipality, and remains one of the few Native American surnames used, along with Donnacona and Batiscan, to represent an administrative entity in Quebec. In fact, the RCM des Collines-de-l'Outaouais’ territory, with numerous lakes and located in proximity to the Gatineau Park, bears the name of a renowned Chief of the Outaouais tribe (between 1712 and 1725-1769), Pontiac, which was spelled Pondiak or Pondiag by the Francophones, and Pontiack, Ponteak and Pontiague by the Anglophones.

Mayors and Councillors

By Maude-Emmanuelle Lambert

Several Councillors and mayors stood out throughout the Municipality’s history: they have provided essential infrastructures, contributed to its economic development and to the implementation of sports and recreational activities.

The development of the village of Quyon is closely linked to the name of John Egan. In 1846, as the first Member of Parliament for Pontiac County, Egan built a sawmill on the Quyon River (in 1840, he had already built a similar facility in Pontiac Village, possibly the largest such facility along the Ottawa River), in the heart of the village of the same name, on the site of the Dowd Mill on Egan Street. [1]. Egan also donated land to various religious denominations for the construction of churches in the Onslow Township and Quyon.

His assistant Walton Smith, also in the timber trade, was also a citizen who was very committed to the village’s development. From 1860 to 1865, and again from 1873 to 1875, Smith was Mayor of Onslow. In 1875, when the municipality of the village of Quyon was created, he became the first mayor and held the position until 1878.

Joseph Wyman Jr., around 1835, founded a hamlet that he named Woburn. The hamlet is then known under the name Billerica, but in 1956, the name is officially changed from Wyman. Wyman played an important role in the region’s communications history. As of the 1840s, he was in charge of transporting the mail between Aylmer and Portage-du-Fort. His mill provided timber for the construction of buildings to house the kitchen and dormitory for the men who worked on the site of the Georgienne Bay Canal (1854-57) to the village of Pontiac. Councillor in Onslow over the course of several years, he would also become its Mayor in 1877.

Hector M. McLean was Mayor of Eardley for 17 years and Prefect of the Ottawa County for 5 years (Eardley had long been in the Ottawa County). He would also be Mayor of the village of Quyon from 1889 to 1891.

John James Muldoon, resident in the Beechgrove hamlet, also served as Councillor in South Onslow for several years (including 1895-1897).

In January 1906 Patrick O'Reilly was elected Mayor of Onslow North and served until 1925. He was the longest serving mayor in Onslow North, serving for 19 years.

Some councillors have served for very long periods of time. Bernard Armitage, who participated in the creation of the Municipality of Pontiac, represented Onslow-North for 30 years. [2]. Leo Gibbons, who served on Quyon municipal Council from 1965 to 1975, returned to politics in the late 1980s as a Quyon councillor in the new municipality. [3]. President of the Quyon Agricultural Society, Kenneth Bronson served for 35 years as Mayor (1961-1975) and Councillor of South Onslow and then of the Municipality of Pontiac.

Moreover, S. Wyman Mackechnie was actively involved with the Quyon Agricultural Society. Mayor of South Onslow from 1941 to 1951, he was first a Councillor in the 1930s.

Finally, in the Eardley sector, the Lusk family played a predominant role on the Municipal Council. At least two of them, Isaac Lusk and Jos F. Lusk served on the Municipal Council.

[1] Richard M. Reid, « Egan, John », Dictionary of Canadian Biography.

[2] “Award for 30 years on council”, The Equity, July 6, 1983.

[3] Denise Belec, “Gibbons wins close race”, The Equity, August 24, 1988.

Mayors of the Municipality of Pontiac
(since 1975)

Last name Mandate
William Burke 1975-1979
Marcel Lavigne 1979-1990
Edward McCann 1990-1994
Marcel Lavigne 1994-1998
Bruce Campbell 1998-2005
Edward McCann 2005-2013
Roger Larose 2013-2017
Joanne Labadie 2017-2021

Sport is at the heart of the Municipality's community life

One of the oldest forms of citizens’ involvement within the Municipality is sports related. In the Municipality of Pontiac, and particularly in the village of Quyon, organized sports go back to the turn of the 20th Century, with the establishment of the first hockey team that was active at least since 1902.

During the 1910s, several groups of Women’s Institutes are formed in Pontiac, first in Wyman (1913), followed by Beechgrove, Eardley, Breckenridge and Quyon.

Near the end of the 1930s, the concentrated social fabric of Quyon was the development of a rather rudimentary fire department.

In 1956, a group consisting of seven veterans set up local 231 of the Canadian Legion. A service-oriented organization, the Lions Club is created in 1967, and in 1983, its female subsidiary, the Lionettes receives its charter. Since then, these citizens groups have played a major role in organizing sports and recreational activities for the youth, in supporting various causes and groups through fundraisers and in the social and cultural life of the community (coordinating the winter carnival, parades, community suppers, dances, etc.).

Community centers and libraries

The model school in Onslow (known today as the Bert Kennedy Centre) was renovated by the municipality and made available (from 1976) to various groups, such as the Quyon Women’s Institute and the Quyon Senior Citizens’ Club.

The Luskville Community Centre was inaugurated on February 9, 1980. The library was inaugurated a few years later, on June 11, 1989. The Quyon Library, for its part, has changed location several times. It was first located in the building in front of the Saint-Mary’s school (which is now being used by municipal employees), to then move temporarily to the old Convent of the Sisters of Saint-Mary’s, before finally settling in the building on John Street in 1999.

Other areas for leisure activities and socializing

The recreational parks, including the Luskville Park and the old fairgrounds where the Quyon Agricultural Fair used to be held, are at the heart of the community and sports sociability. Not only do these parks host sports and friendly competitions and sports training sessions for children, they are also often community gathering places for various cultural, social or musical events.

Population of 5850 inhabitants

%

Men

%

Women

Total private dwellings: 2664

%

Household owners

%

Tenant household

Language spoken most often at home

%

English

%

French

%

Non-official languages

Mother tongue

%

English

%

French

%

Non-official languages

Highest certificate, diploma or degree for the
population aged 25 to 64 in private households

%

None

%

High school diploma

%

Apprenticeship or trade school certificate or diploma

%

Certificate or diploma from a college, CEGEP or other non-university institution

%

University certificate or undergraduate degree

%

University certificate, diploma or degree at bachelor's level or higher

Histoire et patrimoine

Découvrir / Histoire et patrimoine

Histoire

Par Maude-Emmanuelle Lambert

Située sur la rive nord de la rivière des Outaouais, le territoire de la Municipalité de Pontiac s’étend des limites ouest de la grande Ville de Gatineau (secteur Aylmer) jusqu’aux frontières est de la Municipalité de Bristol. Elle possède une superficie de 448,31 km² et compte 5 986 habitants selon le décret de population des municipalités du Québec de 2021.

La Municipalité de Pontiac créée en 1975 par la fusion des cantons d’Onslow et d’Eardley qui comprennent les villages de Eardley (1855) Quyon (1875), Onslow-Sud (1876) et Onslow-Nord (1878). Ces cantons abritent également des hameaux (non incorporés), soit Breckenridge, Heyworth, Beechgrove, Mohr Corners, Onslow Corners, Wyman (anciennement Billerica) et Steele. Le nom de Pontiac tirerait son origine du Comté de Pontiac (désigné en 1853) ou encore d’un des premiers centres d’activités économiques et de peuplement qui s’est développé au XIXe siècle, le Pontiac Village (parfois appelé Pontiacville), situé à l’extrémité ouest du canton d’Onslow.

Toutefois, l’occupation humaine du territoire est beaucoup plus ancienne que la création des cantons, villages et hameaux. Elle remonte à plusieurs milliers d’années.

L’espace qui correspond aujourd’hui à la Municipalité de Pontiac fait partie du territoire historique des Anishinabegs (les Algonquins) qui s’étendait tout le long de la rivière des Outaouais jusqu’à la hauteur de Deep River. Des fouilles archéologiques réalisées notamment à l’Îsle-aux-Allumettes, ainsi que dans le secteur de Quyon, de Luskville et à la hauteur de Fitzroy Harbour suggèrent une occupation autochtone du territoire qui remonterait à 6 000 ans.

Identifiant jadis une division de recensement et un comté électoral en 1853, une circonscription électorale, une MRC, une région et une municipalité, Pontiac demeure l’un des rares patronymes amérindiens, avec Donnacona et Batiscan, à coiffer une entité administrative au Québec. En effet, ce territoire de la MRC des Collines-de-l’Outaouais, parsemé de plans d’eau nombreux et situé à proximité du parc de la Gatineau, porte le nom d’un célèbre chef de la tribu des Outaouais (entre 1712 et 1725-1769), Pontiac, orthographié Pondiak ou Pondiag par les francophones et Pontiack, Ponteak et Pontiague par les anglophones.

Maires et conseillers

Par Maude-Emmanuelle Lambert

Plusieurs conseillers et maires se sont distingués au fil de l’histoire de la Municipalité : ils et elles l’ont dotée d’infrastructures essentielles, ont contribué à son développement économique ou encore à mettre en place des activités sportives et de loisirs.

Le développement du village de Quyon est étroitement lié au nom de John Egan. Premier député du comté de Pontiac, Egan implante en 1846 une scierie sur la rivière Quyon (il avait déjà, en 1840, construit une autre installation de ce type au village Pontiac, possiblement la plus importante installation du genre le long de l’Outaouais), au coeur du village du même nom, à l’emplacement actuel du moulin Dowd sur la rue Egan [1]. Egan fera aussi don de terrains aux différentes confessions religieuses pour la construction d’églises dans le canton d’Onslow et à Quyon.

Son assistant Walton Smith, qui est également dans le commerce du bois, est aussi un citoyen très engagé dans le développement du village. De 1860 à 1865, puis à nouveau de 1873 à 1875, Smith est maire d’Onslow. En 1875, lorsque la municipalité de village de Quyon est créée, il en devient le premier maire et occupe ce poste jusqu’en 1878.

Joseph Wyman jr, vers 1835 fonde un hameau qu’il nomme Woburn. Le hameau est ensuite connu sous le nom de Billerica, mais en 1956, le nom est officiellement changé pour Wyman.  Wyman joue un rôle important dans l’histoire des communications de la région. À partir des années 1840, il s’occupe de transporter par terre, le courrier entre Aylmer et Portage-du-Fort. Son moulin fournit le bois d’œuvre pour la construction des bâtiments devant abriter la cuisine et les dortoirs des hommes qui travaillent au chantier du canal de la baie Georgienne (1854-57) au village de Pontiac. Conseiller pendant plusieurs années à Onslow, il en sera aussi maire en 1877.

Hector M. McLean est maire d’Eardley pendant 17 ans et préfet du comté d’Ottawa (Eardley a longtemps fait partie du comté d’Ottawa) pendant cinq ans. Il sera aussi maire du village de Quyon de 1889 à 1891.

John James Muldoon, résident du hameau de Beechgrove, a également servi comme conseiller d’Onslow-sud pendant plusieurs années (dont 1895-1897).

À partir de janvier 1906 Patrick O’Reilly est élu maire de Onslow-nord et reste en poste jusqu’en 1925.  Il est demeuré le plus longtemps maire en poste à Onslow-nord, avec 19 ans de service.

Certains conseillers ont servi pendant de très longues périodes. Bernard Armitage, qui a notamment participé à la création de la Municipalité de Pontiac, a ainsi représenté Onslow-nord pendant 30 ans [2]. Leo Gibbons pour sa part, qui a siégé sur le conseil municipal de Quyon de 1965 à 1975, fait un retour en politique à la fin des années 1980 à titre de conseiller de Quyon au sein de la nouvelle municipalité [3]. Président de la Société d’agriculture de Quyon, Kenneth Bronson a servi pendant 35 ans à titre de maire (1961-1975) et de conseiller d’Onslow-sud, puis de la Municipalité de Pontiac.

Par ailleurs, S. Wyman Mackechnie a été très présent au sein de la Société d’agriculture de Quyon et de la Coopérative de lait et fromage de Quyon.  Maire d’Onslow-sud de 1941 à 1951, il est d’abord conseiller dans les années 1930.

Enfin, dans le secteur Eardley, les Lusk ont joué un rôle prépondérant au conseil municipal. Au moins deux d’entre eux, Isaac Lusk et Jos. F. Lusk ont siégés au conseil municipal.

[1] Richard M. Reid, « Egan, John », Dictionnaire biographique du Canada.

[2] “Award for 30 years on council”, The Equity, 6 juillet 1983.

[3] Denise Belec, “Gibbons wins close race”, The Equity, 24 août 1988.

Maires de la Municipalité de Pontiac
(depuis 1975)

Nom Élection (mandat)
William Burke 1975-1979
Marcel Lavigne 1979-1990
Edward McCann 1990-1994
Marcel Lavigne 1994-1998
Bruce Campbell 1998-2005
Edward McCann 2005-2013
Roger Larose 2013-2017
Joanne Labadie 2017-2021

L’engagement civil et la vie communautaire

Le sport est au cœur de la vie communautaire de la Municipalité

L’une des formes d’engagement citoyen les plus anciennes au sein de la Municipalité se trouve à l’échelle du sport. Dans la municipalité de Pontiac, et plus particulièrement dans le village de Quyon, le sport organisé remonte au tournant du XXe siècle, avec la création d’une première équipe de hockey, active à tout le moins depuis 1902.

Dans les années 1910, plusieurs groupes d’Instituts féminins (Women’s Institutes) se forment à Pontiac, d’abord à Wyman (1913), puis à Beechgrove, Eardley, Breckenridge et Quyon.

La formation d’un tissu villageois plus dense à Quyon voit le développement d’un service d’incendie rudimentaire vers la fin des années 1930.

En 1956, un groupe de sept anciens combattants mettent sur pied la filiale 231 de la Légion canadienne. Un club de service, le Club Lions est créé en 1967, et en 1983, sa filiale féminine, les Lionettes, reçoit sa charte. Depuis, ces groupes de citoyens ont joué un rôle majeur dans l’organisation d’activités sportives et de loisirs chez les jeunes, dans le soutien à différentes causes et groupes par des campagnes de financement et dans la vie sociale et culturelle de la communauté (coordination du carnaval d’hiver, défilés, soupers communautaires, soirées dansantes, etc.)

Les salles communautaires et bibliothèques

Au début des années 1970, l’école modèle d’Onslow (aujourd’hui l’Institut des femmes de Quyon (Quyon Women’s Institute) est rénovée par la Municipalité et mise à la disposition (à partir de 1976), de différents groupes dont le Quyon Women’s Institute et le Quyon Senior Citizen Club.

La salle communautaire de Luskville est inaugurée le 9 février 1980. La bibliothèque est inaugurée quelques années plus tard, le 11 juin 1989. La bibliothèque de Quyon, pour sa part, change plusieurs fois d’adresse. D’abord située en face de l’école Sainte-Marie (dans les locaux utilisés aujourd’hui par les employés municipaux), elle déménage temporairement dans l’ancien couvent des sœurs de Sainte-Marie, avant d’être accueillie dans le nouvel édifice de la rue John en 1999.

Autres lieux de loisir et de sociabilité

Les parcs de loisirs, dont le parc de Luskville et l’ancien terrain d’exposition de la foire agricole de Quyon sont au cœur de la sociabilité sportive et communautaire. Non seulement ces parcs accueillent les compétitions sportives, amicales et les séances d’apprentissage d’un sport pour les plus jeunes, mais ils sont souvent des lieux de rassemblement de la communauté lors de différents événements à saveurs culturelle, sociale ou musicale.

Profil démographique

Source : Recensement 2016

Population de 5850 habitants

%

Hommes

%

Femmes

Total des logements privés: 2664

%

Ménage propriétaire

%

Ménage locataire

Langue parlée le plus souvent à la maison

%

Anglais

%

Français

%

Langue non officielle

Langue maternelle

%

Anglais

%

Français

%

Langue non officielle

Plus haut certificat, diplôme ou grade pour la
population âgée de 25 à 64 ans dans les ménages privés

%

Aucun

%

Diplôme d'étude secondaire

%

Certificat ou diplôme d'apprentie ou d'une école de métier

%

Certificat ou diplôme d'un collège, d'un cégep ou d'un autre établissement non universitaire

%

Certificat ou diplôme universitaire inférieur au baccalauréat

%

Certificat, diplôme ou grade universitaire au niveau baccalauréat ou supérieur