Municipal Council

Our Services / Municipal Council

General information

Composition

The municipal council represents and administers the affairs of the Municipality. The Municipality of Pontiac is a legal entity governed by public law consisting of the inhabitants and taxpayers within its territory.

In a municipal election, the duration of an elected representative’s mandate is four years. It begins when he/she is sworn in, and ends on the date of the newly appointed representative.

Functionning of a municipality

Elected representatives assembled as council represent the population, and as such, make decisions on the Municipality’s objectives and priorities of action and therefore transact and carry out all necessary administrative business.

They can only make decisions in the form of a resolution or bylaw passed at a properly held meeting. Thus, the Council meeting is the primary forum to exercise municipal democracy.

Quorum of the municipal council means that the majority of its members are present. The regular or general council meetings are public meetings and are held once a month. The council meeting includes a period during which the attending public may direct their questions to the council members. Council may, through a by-law, stipulate what the duration of the question period will be, at what moment it will take place and what the procedure will be.

Any disputed question is decided by the majority of the members present, except when a provision of the Law requires a greater number of corroborating decisions.

Individually and outside of council meetings, elected representatives do not have the power to make decisions on behalf of the Municipality, nor do they to interfere with its administration. In the case of force majeure, only the mayor has the power to do so. He also has the right of supervision over the administration and the employees.

Council fulfills the Municipality’s obligations. It therefore assumes the rights and duties that are vested by the principle Laws, or certain charters if applicable (the Cities and Towns Act, the Quebec Municipal Code, as well as certain related acts including the Act respecting municipal taxation and the Land Use Planning and Development Act).

In order to help them carry out their responsiblities and to implement council’s decisions, the elected representatives may count on the Director General as well as other municipal employees, notably the city planner who is usually the contact person for the Planning advisory committee.

Through the adoption of a by-law, a municipal council may fix the mayor’s remuneration and that of its other members.

Municipal committees

Council may appoint committees, which may be comprised of as many of its members that it deems suitable. They have the authority to examine or study any given issue. In this case, these committees must notify Council of their work by sumitting a report signed by the president or the majority of its members. None of these reports have any effect until they are approved by council.

Appointments and composition of municipal committees (resolution 20-02-3996)

Strategic Planning Committee Tous les membres du conseil municipal
Planning Advisory Committee Joanne Labadie
Isabelle Patry
Scott McDonald
Planning and Development Committee Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Isabelle Patry
Scott McDonald
Public Safety Committee Joanne Labadie
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Thomas Howard
Public Works Committee Joanne Labadie
Isabelle Patry
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Scott McDonald
Regulatory Committee Joanne Labadie
Leslie-Anne Barber
Isabelle Patry
Recreation Committee Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Scott McDonald
Administration and finances Committee Joanne Labadie
Leslie-Anne Barber
Isabelle Patry
Agricultural Committee Joanne Labadie
Thomas Howard
Waste Management Committee Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Scott McDonald
Thomas Howard

 

Municipality of Pontiac representatives on the Board of Directors and Committees mentioned below:

 

Quyon’s Port Authority- Mohr’s Landing Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Joanne Labadie
Transcollines Joanne Labadie
TransporAction Pontiac Susan McKay
Pontiac Municipal Housing Authority Susan McKay
Joanne Labadie
Chat Falls’ Friends Committee Thomas Howard
Pontiac Observatory Joanne Labadie
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Réseau Biblio representative Joanne Labadie

Budget

During the period between November 15th and December 31st, Council must prepare and adopt the municipal budget for the next fiscal year and project revenues that will at least cover the expenditures therein.

At a regular Council meeting held at least four weeks prior to the adoption of the budget, the mayor reports on the Municipality’s financial situation. He notably addresses the recent financial statements, the last external auditor’s report, and the last three-year capital expenditure program. He also addresses preliminary indications on the financial statements of the year previous to that of the new budget, and the main guidelines for the next budget as well as the next three-year capital expenditure program.

Three-year capital expenditure program

A municipal council must adopt the Municipality’s capital expenditure program for the subsequent three fiscal years, no later than on December 31st.

Members of your municipal council

Joanne Labadie

Nancy Draper Maxsom

District 1, Councillor
Telephone: 819-455-2424
Email: maxsom.nancy@municipalitepontiac.ca

Susan McKay

District 2, Councillor
Telephone: 819-230-9997
Email: mckay.susan@municipalitepontiac.ca

Tom Howard

District 3, Conseiller
Email: howard.tom@municipalitepontiac.ca

Scott McDonald

District 4, Councillor
Telephone: 819-598-8301
Email: mcdonald.scott@municipalitepontiac.ca

Isabelle Patry

District 5, Councillor
Telephone: 613-880-1323
Email: patry.isabelle@municipalitepontiac.ca

Leslie-Anne Barber

District 6, Councillor
Deputy mayor
Telephone: 613-818-7221
Email: barber.leslieanne@municipalitepontiac.ca

Electoral districts

Electoral district number 1

Starting from a position located at the intersection of Gauvin road and the North municipal limit; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the East, the North and North-East municipal limits, Eardley-Masham road, Route 148, Kennedy road, the creek along the West limit of the property located at 2456 Kennedy road, the South municipal limit in the Ottawa River, the dual power transmission lines, Route 148, Hammond road, the 5th Concession, the West and North municipal limits and back to the starting point.

Electoral district number 2

Starting from a position at the intersection of Hammond road and the 5th Concession; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the South, Hammond road, Route 148, the dual power transmission lines, the South municipal limit (in the Ottawa River) and West (partly on Gold Mine road South and North), the 5th Concession, and back to the starting point.

Electoral district number 3

Starting from a position at the intersection of the North-East municipal limit and Eardley-Masham road; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the East, the municipal limits North-East and East, the extension towards East of the la Butte road, this last road, Crégheur road, Tremblay road, Desjardins road, des Huards road and its extension towards the South, the South municipal limit in the Ottawa River, the creek along the West limit of the property located at 2456 Kennedy road, Kennedy road, the Route 148, Eardley-Masham road, and back to the starting point.

Electoral district number 4

Starting from a position at the triple intersection of Tremblay road as well as Route 148 and Crégheur road; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the East, Crégheur road, the back limits of the properties facing the North and West sides of Kerr road, the back limit of the properties facing the West side of Ivan Crescent, the limit dividing the two properties located at 1966 and 1986 de la Montagne road, this last road, Tyler road, Route 148, the extension toward the West of Maple road in the South limit of the property located at 1583 Route 148, the South municipal limit in the Ottawa River, the extension towards the South of des Huarts road, this last road, Desjardins road, Tremblay road, and back to the starting point.

Electoral district number 5

From a position starting at the intersection of de la Butte road and Crégheur road; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the East, Crégheur road and its extension towards the East, the East municipal limit (partly on Terry-Fox road), Route 148, Dubois road, Maple road, Route 148, Tyler road, de la Montagne road, the limit dividing the two properties located at 1966 and 1986 de la Montagne road, the back limit of the properties facing the West side of Ivan Crescent, the back limit of the properties facing on the West and North sides of Kerr road, Crégheur road, and back to the starting point.

Electoral district number 6

From a position starting at the intersection of Dubois and Maple roads; from there, one after the other, the following lines and boundaries: towards the South, Dubois road, Route 148, the East municipal limit (partly on Terry-Fox road) and South (in the Ottawa River), the extension towards the West of Maple road, in the South limit of the property located at 1583 Route 148, Maple road, and back to the starting point.

Council Meetings

Scheduled regular meetings

 

Regular Council meetings for 2021 shall be held on Tuesday evenings commencing at 7:00 p.m. (adopted by resolution 20-09-4152 on September 8, 2020).

January
12
February
9
March
9
April
13
May
11
June
8
July
6
August
24
September
14
October
12
November
9
December
14

Archives

Conseil municipal

Nos services / Conseil municipal

Information générale

Composition

Le conseil municipal représente la Municipalité et en administre les affaires. La Municipalité de Pontiac est une personne morale de droit public formée des habitants et des contribuables de son territoire. Notre conseil municipal est composé d’un maire et de six conseillères/conseillers élues/élus par les électeurs de la Municipalité.

La durée du mandat d’une personne élue lors d’une élection municipale est de quatre ans et débute lors de son assermentation pour se terminer lors de celle des nouveaux élus.

Fonctionnement

Les élus réunis en conseil représentent la population et, à ce titre, prennent les décisions sur les orientations et les priorités d’action de la Municipalité et en administrent les affaires.

Ils ne peuvent prendre de décision que sous forme de résolution ou de règlement adopté lors d’une assemblée tenue dans les règles. Ainsi, l’assemblée du conseil est le principal lieu d’exercice de la démocratie municipale.

Le quorum du conseil de la Municipalité locale correspond à la majorité de ses membres. Les sessions ordinaires ou générales du conseil ont lieu au moins une fois par mois et elles sont publiques. La session du conseil comprend une période au cours de laquelle les personnes présentes peuvent poser des questions aux membres du conseil. Le conseil peut, par règlement, prescrire la durée de cette période, le moment où elle a lieu et la procédure à suivre.

Toute question contestée est décidée par la majorité des membres présents, sauf dans les cas où une disposition de la loi exige un plus grand nombre de voix concordantes.

Individuellement et en dehors des assemblées du conseil, les élus n’ont pas le pouvoir de prendre des décisions au nom de la Municipalité ni d’intervenir dans l’administration de cette dernière. En cas de force majeure, seul le maire dispose de ce pouvoir. Il a également droit de surveillance sur l’administration et les employés.

Le conseil remplit les obligations de la Municipalité. Il assume ainsi les droits et les devoirs dévolus par les principales lois et, le cas échéant, par certaines chartes (Loi sur les cités et villes, Code municipal du Québec de même que certaines lois connexes dont la Loi sur la fiscalité municipale et la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme).

Pour les assister dans l’exercice de leurs responsabilités et pour exécuter les décisions prises par le conseil, les élus peuvent compter sur le fonctionnaire principal de la Municipalité (soit le secrétaire-trésorier ou le directeur général) ainsi que sur les autres fonctionnaires municipaux, notamment l’urbaniste qui habituellement est la personne-ressource du comité consultatif d’urbanisme.

Le conseil d’une municipalité peut, par règlement, fixer la rémunération de son maire et de ses autres membres.

Comités de la Municipalité

Le conseil peut nommer des comités, composés d’autant de ses membres qu’il juge convenable, ayant le pouvoir d’examiner et d’étudier une question quelconque. Dans ce cas, les comités rendent compte de leurs travaux par des rapports signés par leur président ou la majorité de leurs membres. Nul rapport de comité n’a d’effet avant d’avoir été adopté par le conseil.

Nominations et composition des comités municipaux (Résolution 20-02-3996)

Comité de planification stratégique Tous les membres du conseil municipal
Comité consultatif d’urbanisme Joanne Labadie
Isabelle Patry
Scott McDonald
Comité d’aménagement et d’urbanisme Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Isabelle Patry
Scott McDonald
Comité de sécurité publique Joanne Labadie
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Thomas Howard
Comité des travaux publics Joanne Labadie
Isabelle Patry
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Scott McDonald
Comité de la réglementation Joanne Labadie
Leslie-Anne Barber
Isabelle Patry
Comité des loisirs Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Scott McDonald
Comité de l’administration et des finances Joanne Labadie
Leslie-Anne Barber
Isabelle Patry
Comité agricole Joanne Labadie
Thomas Howard
Comité de gestion des matières résiduelles Joanne Labadie
Susan McKay
Scott McDonald
Thomas Howard

 

Représentants de la Municipalité de Pontiac aux conseils d’administration et comités mentionnés ci-dessous

 

Autorité portuaire Quyon- Mohr’s Landing Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Joanne Labadie
Transcollines Joanne Labadie
TransporAction Pontiac Susan McKay
Office municipal d’habitation Pontiac Susan McKay
Joanne Labadie
Comité des Amis du Sault-des-Chats Thomas Howard
Observatoire Pontiac Joanne Labadie
Nancy Draper-Maxsom
Représentant auprès du Réseau Biblio Joanne Labadie

Budget

Durant la période allant du 15 novembre au 31 décembre, le conseil doit préparer et adopter le budget de la Municipalité pour le prochain exercice financier et y prévoir des revenus au moins égaux aux dépenses qui y figurent.

Au moins quatre semaines avant que le budget ne soit déposé devant le conseil pour adoption, le maire fait un rapport sur la situation financière de la Municipalité au cours d’une session du conseil. Le maire traite notamment des derniers états financiers, du dernier rapport du vérificateur externe et du dernier programme triennal d’immobilisations. Il traite également des indications préliminaires relatives aux états financiers de l’exercice précédent celui pour lequel le prochain budget sera fait et des orientations générales du prochain budget et du prochain programme triennal d’immobilisations.

Programme triennal d'immobilisations (PTI)

Le conseil d’une municipalité locale doit, au plus tard le 31 décembre de chaque année, adopter le programme de dépenses en immobilisations de la Municipalité pour les trois exercices financiers subséquents.

Les membres de votre conseil

Joanne Labadie

Mairesse
Téléphone : 819-230-5408
Courriel : mairie@municipalitepontiac.ca

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

District 1 – vacant

Susan McKay

District 2, Conseillère
Téléphone : 819-230-9997
Courriel : mckay.susan@municipalitepontiac.ca

Tom Howard

District 3, Conseiller
Courriel : howard.tom@municipalitepontiac.ca

Scott McDonald

District 4, Conseiller
Téléphone : 819-598-8301
Courriel : mcdonald.scott@municipalitepontiac.ca

Isabelle Patry

District 5, Conseillère
Téléphone : 613-880-1323
Courriel : patry.isabelle@municipalitepontiac.ca

Leslie-Anne Barber

District 6, Conseillère et
Mairesse suppléante
Téléphone : 613-818-7221
Courriel : barber.leslieanne@municipalitepontiac.ca

Districts électoraux

District électoral numéro 1

En partant d’un point situé à l’intersection du chemin Gauvin et de la limite municipale Nord ; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers l’Est, les limites municipales Nord et Nord-est, le chemin Eardley-Masham, la route 148, le chemin Kennedy, le ruisseau longeant la limite Ouest de la propriété sise au 2456 chemin Kennedy, la limite municipale Sud dans la rivière des Outaouais, le duo de lignes de transport d’énergie électrique, la route 148, le chemin Hammond, la 5e Concession, les limites municipales Ouest et Nord, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

District électoral numéro 2

En partant d’un point situé à l’intersection du chemin Hammond et de la 5e Concession ; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers le Sud, le chemin Hammond, la route 148, le duo de lignes de transport d’énergie électrique, les limites municipales Sud (dans la rivière des Outaouais) et Ouest (en partie dans les chemins Gold Mine Sud et Nord), la 5e Concession, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

District électoral numéro 3

En partant d’un point situé à l’intersection de la limite municipale Nord-est et du chemin Eardley-Masham; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers l’Est, les limites municipales Nord-est et Est, le prolongement en direction Est du chemin de la Butte, ce dernier chemin, le chemin Crégheur, le chemin Tremblay, le chemin Desjardins, le chemin des Huarts et son prolongement en direction Sud, la limite municipale Sud dans la rivière des Outaouais, le ruisseau longeant la limite Ouest de la propriété sise au 2456 chemin Kennedy, le chemin Kennedy, la route 148, le chemin Eardley-Masham, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

District électoral numéro 4

En partant d’un point situé à la triple intersection du chemin Tremblay ainsi que de la route 148 et du chemin Crégheur; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers l’Est, le chemin Crégheur, la limite arrière des propriétés ayant front sur les côtés Nord et Ouest du chemin Kerr, la limite arrière des propriétés ayant front sur le côté Ouest du croissant Ivan, la limite séparant les deux propriétés sises aux 1966 et 1986 chemin de la Montagne, ce dernier chemin, le chemin Tyler, la route 148, le prolongement en direction Ouest du chemin Maple dans la limite Sud de la propriété sise au 1583 route 148, la limite municipale Sud dans la rivière des Outaouais, le prolongement en direction Sud du chemin des Huarts, ce dernier chemin, le chemin Desjardins, le chemin Tremblay, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

District électoral numéro 5

En partant d’un point situé à l’intersection des chemins de la Butte et Crégheur; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers l’Est, le chemin Crégheur et son prolongement en direction Est, la limite municipale Est (en partie dans le chemin Terry-Fox), la route 148, le chemin Dubois, le chemin Maple, la route 148, le chemin Tyler, le chemin de la Montagne, la limite séparant les deux propriétés sises aux 1966 et 1986 chemin de la Montagne, la limite arrière des propriétés ayant front sur le côté Ouest du croissant Ivan, la limite arrière des propriétés ayant front sur les côtés Ouest et Nord du chemin Kerr, le chemin Crégheur, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

District électoral numéro 6

En partant d’un point situé à l’intersection des chemins Dubois et Maple; de là, successivement, les lignes et démarcations suivantes : vers le Sud, le chemin Dubois, la route 148, les limites municipales Est (en partie dans le chemin Terry-Fox) et Sud (dans la rivière des Outaouais), le prolongement en direction Ouest du chemin Maple dans la limite Sud de la propriété sise au 1583 route 148, le chemin Maple, et ce jusqu’au point de départ.

Séances municipales

Calendrier des réunions ordinaires

 

La tenue des séances ordinaires du Conseil municipal pour 2021 aura lieu les mardis soirs et débuteront à 19h00 (adopté par résolution 20-09-4152 le 8 septembre 2020).

Janvier
12
Février
9
Mars
9
Avril
13
Mai
11
Juin
8
Juillet
6
Août
24
Septembre
14
Octobre
5
Novembre
23
Décembre
14

N.B. :     Considérant l’article 314.2 de La Loi sur les élections et les référendums dans les municipalités, la rencontre du conseil prévue le 12 octobre 2021 sera devancée au 5 octobre 2021, et celle prévue le 9 novembre 2021 sera repoussée au 23 novembre 2021.

Archives